Mort Drucker inducted into the Society of Illustrators Hall of Fame

June 24th, 2017

On Thursday, June 22, our own Mort Drucker was officially inducted into the prestigious Society of Illustrators Hall of Fame, in New York City. The dining room was …

Read More →

Nation’s top cartoonists meet Portland fans during Reuben Awards

May 30th, 2017

Cartoon enthusiasts packed the Hilton Hotel’s Atrium Ballroom in downtown Portland on Sunday in hopes of meeting some of the top cartoonists from around the country. Fans were able to …

Read More →

71st Annual Reuben Award Winners Announced!

May 27th, 2017

28th May 2017 POLITICAL CARTOONIST ANN TELNAES AWARDED INDUSTRY’S HIGHEST HONOR These days it seems every movie or tv-show is based on comics and cartoons of some kind, …

Read More →

NCS Awards

Each year, during the NCS Annual Reuben Awards Weekend, the Society honors the year's outstanding achievements in all walks of the profession. The society's greatest honor, the Reuben Award, is presented to the Outstanding Cartoonist of the Year. Cartoonists in various professional divisions are also honored with special plaques for excellence in the fields of newspaper strips, TV animation, gag cartoons, comic books and more.

View All the Award Winners

NCS on Instagram


The NCS was born in 1946 when groups of cartoonists got together to entertain the troops. They found that they enjoyed each other's company and decided to get together on a regular basis. Today, the NCS membership roster includes over 500 of the world's major cartoonists, working in many branches of the profession.

Learn More about the NCS

Check out the debut issue of our new digital magazine, The National Cartoonist! Interviews, features and rare cartoon art!

NCS Magazine

Every year, the NCS issues special limited-edition T-shirts to commemorate our appearance at the San Diego Comic-Con. Order your T-shirts here!

NCS T-Shirts


The National Cartoonists Society Foundation is the charitable arm of the National Cartoonists Society. The NCS Foundation was formed in 2005 to continue the charitable and educational works that have been a hallmark of the NCS since its inception in 1946.